| Baxter names Bafana starting XI for Senegal clash

Cape Town – Bafana Bafana coach Stuart Baxter has named his starting line-up for the final 2018 Soccer World Cup qualifier against Senegal in Dakar.

READ: Baxter – No dead rubber games for Bafana

LIVE: Senegal v Bafana Bafana

Goalkeeper  Itumeleng Khune will once again captain the side with a defence of Thamsanqa Mkhize, S’Fiso Hlanti, Morgan Gould and Clayton Daniels in front him.

The Bafana midfield will consist of Dean Furman, Bongani Zungu, Themba Zwane, Keagan Dolly and Sibusiso Vilakazi with Percy Tau playing on his own up front as a lone striker. 

The match kicks-off at 21:30 (SA time). 

On Friday, South Africa lost 2-0 to Senegal, effectively ending their chances of qualifying for the World Cup in Russia.

Baxter has insisted, however, that tonight’s fixture will not be treated as a dead rubber.




South Africa

Itumeleng Khune (captain), Thamsanqa Mkhize, S’Fiso Hlanti, Clayton Daniels, Morgan Gould, Dean Furman, Bongani Zungu, Themba Zwane, Percy Tau, Keagan Dolly, Sibusiso Vilakazi

Substitutes: Wayne Sandilands, Erick Mathoho, Tebogo Langerman, Lebogang Manyama, Siphiwe Tshabalala, Kamohelo Mokotjo, Tiyani Mabunda, Dino Ndlovu, Andile Jali, Bradley Grobler, Phakamani Mahlambi, Motjeka Madisha

Post Comment

20 − 4 =